FLAVOUR ENHANCERS
(620-640)

"If you think that something is right just because everyone believes it, then you are not thinking" 
Vivienne Westwood
"IF MSG ISN'T HARMFUL, WHY IS IT HIDDEN?"
Number Name Comments
620
E620
Glutamic acid Natural amino acid (building block of protein). Commercially prepared from molasses by bacterial fermentation. Also prepared from vegetable protein, such as gluten, or soy protein. Glutamic acid and glutamates are present in all proteins. Free glutamates are present in high concentrations in ripened cheese, breast milk, tomatoes and sardines. Flavour enhancer, salt substitute used in sausages, seasoning, savoury snacks - many savoury foods. An amino acid present in many animal and vegetable proteins, derived commercially from bacteria; might cause similar problems as MSG (621), young children should avoid it. It could kill nerve cells, resulting in diseases such as Huntington's, Alzheimer's and Parkinson's.
621
E621
Monosodium L-glutamate (MSG) Sodium salt from glutamic acid (E620), a natural amino acid (building block of protein). Commercially prepared from molasses by bacterial fermentation. Added to any savoury processed protein food.  In cigarettes and animal food.  In over 10,000 foods in USA.  Flavour enhancer derived from the fermentation of molasses, salt substitute; adverse effects appear in some asthmatic people, should not be permitted in foods for infants and young children as it could damage the nervous system. Typical products are canned vegetables, canned tuna, dressings, many frozen foods. To be avoided. It could kill nerve cells, resulting in diseases such as Huntington's, Alzheimer's and Parkinson's. Pregnant women, children, hypoglycaemic, elderly and those with heart disease are at risk from reactions.
622
E622
Monopotassium L-glutamate Potassium salt from glutamic acid (E620), a natural amino acid (building block of protein). Commercially prepared from molasses by bacterial fermentation. Also prepared from vegetable protein, such as gluten, or soy protein. Less used and not as salty, low sodium salt substitute. Can cause nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea, abdominal cramps; typical products are low sodium salt substitutes. Not for babies under 12 months old or those people with impaired kidneys.  See 621.
623
E623
Calcium di-L-glutamate g block of protein). Commercially prepared from molasses by bacterial fermentation. Also prepared from vegetable protein, such as gluten, or soy protein. Salt substitute, no known adverse effects, but possible problems for asthmatics and aspirin sensitive people. See 621.
624
E624
Monoammonium L-glutamate g block of protein). Commercially prepared from molasses by bacterial fermentation. Also prepared from vegetable protein, such as gluten, or soy protein. Salt substitute, flavour enhancer. No known adverse effects.
625
E625
Magnesium di-L-glutamate g block of protein). Commercially prepared from molasses by bacterial fermentation. Also prepared from vegetable protein, such as gluten, or soy protein. Salt substitute, flavour enhancer. Hardly used, only in low sodium meat products. No known adverse effects.
E626 Guanylic acid Not listed for use in Australia. Guanylic acid is a natural acid, which is part of RNA, one of the genetic carrier molecules in the cell. It is thus part of all cells in all living organisms. Commercially prepared from yeast extract or sardines. Asthmatic people should avoid guanylic acid and guanylates. As guanylates are metabolised to purines, they should be avoided by people suffering from gout.
627
E627
Disodium guanylate Flavour enhancer. Isolated from sardines or yeast extract; not permitted in foods for infants and young children. Persons with gout, hyperactivity, asthmatics and aspirin sensitive's should avoid it.    It is found in instant noodles, potato chips and snacks, savoury rice, tinned vegetables, cured meats, packet soup. 
E628 Dipotassium guanylate, 5'- Flavour enhancer. Guanylic acid and guanylates do not have the specific umami taste but strongly enhance many other flavours, thereby reducing the amounts of salt needed in a product. Asthmatic people should avoid guanylic acid and guanylates. As guanylates are metabolised to purines, they should be avoided by people suffering from gout. However, the concentrations used are generally so low that no effects are to be expected. Guanlyic acic and guanylates are generally produced from yeasts, but partly also from fish. They may thus not suitable for vegans and vegetarians.
E629 Calcium guanylate Calcium salt of guanylic acid (E626), a natural acid, which is part of RNA, one of the genetic carrier molecules in the cell. It is thus part of all cells in all living organisms. Commercially prepared from yeast extract or sardines.Flavour enhancer. Guanylic acid and guanylates do not have the specific umami taste but strongly enhance many other flavours, thereby reducing the amounts of salt needed in a product. Used in many products, mainly in low-salt/sodium products. Acceptable daily intake (ADI): None determined. Guanylates may not be used in products intended for children under 12 weeks. Asthmatic people should avoid guanylic acid and guanylates. As guanylates are metabolised to purines, they should be avoided by people suffering from gout.
E630 Inosinic acid A natural acid, that is mainly present in animals. Commercially prepared from meat or fish (sardines). May also be produced by bacterial fermentation of sugars. Used by athletes to supposedly increase the oxygen capacity of there blood. Used in many products. Acceptable daily intake (ADI): None determined. Inosinates may not be used in products intended for children under 12 weeks. Asthmatic people should avoid inosinates. As inosinates are metabolised to purines, they should be avoided by people suffering from gout. Inosinates are generally produced from meat, but partly also from fish. They are thus not suitable for vegans and vegetarians, and in most cases not suitable for Jews, Muslims and Hindus, depending on the origin of the product. Only the producer can provide information on the origin.
631
E631
Disodium inosinate May be prepared from meat or sardines; not permitted in foods for infants and young children. Gout sufferers avoid.  It is found in instant noodles, potato chips and snacks, savoury rice, tinned vegetables, cured meats, packet soup.  Asthmatic people should avoid inosinates. As inosinates are metabolised to purines, they should be avoided by people suffering from gout. Frequently contains MSG(621).
E632 Dipotassium inosinate Potassium salt of inosinic acid (E630), a natural acid, that is mainly present in animals. Commercially prepared from meat or fish (sardines). May also be produced by bacterial fermentation of sugars. Flavour enhancer. Inosinic acid and inosinates do not have the specific umami taste but strongly enhance many other flavours, thereby reducing the amounts of salt or other flavour enhancers needed in a product. Used in many products. Mainly used in low sodium/salt products. Acceptable daily intake (ADI): None determined. Inosinates may not be used in products intended for children under 12 weeks. Asthmatic people should avoid inosinates. As inosinates are metabolised to purines, they should be avoided by people suffering from gout. However, the concentrations used are generally so low that no effects are to be expected. Inosinates are generally produced from meat, but partly also from fish. They are thus not suitable for vegans and vegetarians, and in most cases not suitable for Jews, Muslims and Hindus, depending on the origin of the product. Only the producer can provide information on the origin.
E633 Calcium inosinate Calcium salt of inosinic acid (E630), a natural acid, that is mainly present in animals. Commercially prepared from meat or fish (sardines). May also be produced by bacterial fermentation of sugars. Flavour enhancer. Inosinic acid and inosinates do not have the specific umami taste but strongly enhance many other flavours, thereby reducing the amounts of salt or other flavour enhancers needed in a product. Used in many products. Mainly used in low sodium/salt products. Acceptable daily intake (ADI): None determined. Inosinates may not be used in products intended for children under 12 weeks. Asthmatic people should avoid inosinates. As inosinates are metabolised to purines, they should be avoided by people suffering from gout. However, the concentrations used are generally so low that no effects are to be expected.
E634 Calcium 5'-ribonucleotides Mixture of calcium salts of guanylic (E626) and inosinic acid (E630). Flavour enhancer. Guanylates and inosinates do not have the specific umami taste but strongly enhance many other flavours, thereby reducing the amounts of salt or other flavour enhancers needed in a product. Used in many products. Mainly used in low sodium/salt products. Acceptable daily intake (ADI): None determined. Guanylates and inosinates may not be used in products intended for children under 12 weeks. Asthmatic people should avoid guanylates and inosinates. As guanylates and inosinates are metabolised to purines, they should be avoided by people suffering from gout. However, the concentrations used are generally so low that no effects are to be expected.
635
E635
Disodium 5'-ribonucleotide Made from 627 and 631.  Check imported foods. May be associated with itchy skin rashes up to 30 hours after ingestion; rashes may vary from mild to dramatic; the reaction is dose-related and cumulative, some individuals are more sensitive than others; typical foods include flavoured chips, instant noodles and party pies.
Avoid it, especially gout sufferers, asthmatics and aspirin sensitive people.
E635 Sodium 5'-ribonucleotide Mixture of sodium salts of guanylic (E626) and inosinic acid (E630).  Check imported foods. May be associated with itchy skin rashes up to 30 hours after ingestion; rashes may vary from mild to dramatic; the reaction is dose-related and cumulative, some individuals are more sensitive than others; typical foods include flavoured chips, instant noodles and party pies. Avoid it, especially gout sufferers, asthmatics and aspirin sensitive people. Banned in Australia.
636
E636
Maltol Derived from the bark of larch trees, pine needles, chicory wood, oils and roasted malt; it may be produced synthetically. Artificial sweetener, flavour enhancer used in baked goods to give a 'fresh baked' taste and smell in bread and cakes, chocolate substitute, soft and fizzy drinks, ice cream, jam. In large quantities it can help aluminium pass into the brain to cause Alzheimer's disease. Sometimes lactose (from cow's milk) is used. It should thus be avoided by vegans. It does not contain lactose and can be used by lactose-intolerant people. Acceptable daily intake (ADI): Up to 2 mg/kg bodyweight.  Some countries ban it for babies and young children.
637 Ethyl maltol Derived from maltol chemically. Needs more testing. Base for essences, synthetic artificial flavour and flavour enhancer. Sometimes lactose (from cow's milk) is used. It should thus be avoided by vegans. It does not contain lactose and can be used by lactose-intolerant people. Some countries ban it for babies and young children.  See 636. Acceptable daily intake (ADI): Up to 2 mg/kg bodyweigh
640
E640
Glycine (and its sodium salts),
glycol, amino acetic acid
Flavour modifier. Glycine is a natural amino acid, a building block of protein. Mainly produced from gelatin, partly synthetic. It is a nutrient, mainly for yeast in bread. Also used as a bread enhancer. Genetically coded amino acid used in dietary supplements. Can be mildly toxic if ingested. Glycine is produced mainly from gelatin, which is derived from animal bones. It is therefore not suitable for vegans, vegetarians and, as long as the origin is not known, not for Jews, Muslims and Hindus. Only the producer can provide the origin of the product.

©MBM
PO Box 44, Klemzig, South Australia, 5087